1) EVERYTHING · 3) THOUGHTS

“wish we could turn back time, to the good old days…”

The wonderful Judy has created a lovely prompt – sharing your best pre-teen memories – and I’m honoured to take part in it. Hers is here. Mine are as follows:

1) Picking rosemary with my mother at the park near our house when I was 5 or younger. This is one of the few memories I still have from South Africa

2) Meeting my best friend at the first school I attended in Idaho, and her teaching me all the American ways to say things

3) Mrs. Woolnough’s second grade class, and everything about it, including my best friend Robert (he was a foster kid and moved after that year, and I cried when I couldn’t find him on the first day of third grade)

4) Four-square with Tommy and William at recess.. it seems such a simple thing, but I loved it so much

5) Going to the ski resort, especially when my mom was working there – we would stay in the childcare, watch movies, drink hot chocolate, make friends, and then go skiing with an instructor and have way too much fun. My brother and I got to be excellent skiiers…. but haven’t hit the slopes for about four years

6) When Malcolm (my uncle) and his friend Cliff came to visit. They were in college and we adored them. Malcolm used to tickle me until I could not breathe

7) Any Christmas, especially while we were at our house on Baldy. We had a deal with the Christmas tree farm – they put their sign on our property, we got a free tree. So every year we’d drive up to the farm, tromp through the snow and find the perfect tree, cut it down and drag it home. As it filled the house with the smell of pine needles, we’d decorate. Us kids would watch the Polar Express over and over and it would always snow. That was back before Christmas stopped feeling like Christmas…

8) Dragging a picnic blanket out to the meadow and lying out there and reading one of the classics my mom bought us… most frequently Jane Eyre

9) Singing at a nursing home, then going to youth group, every Friday with a family that lived about 45 minutes out of town. They had 10 kids and had been doing it since their first one was little, and allowed us to join in their tradition when my grandma, then my whole family, befriended them. I also “fell in love” with two of the boys, but that was post-preteen years and didn’t end well at all

10) Camping, biking the Hiawatha trail, visiting the Redwood forests in Montana, countless roadtrips… any adventures we had as a family were wonderful, and gave me the love of travel and foundation that I have today.2006 March 022

https://soundcloud.com/nyno19/stressed-out-twenty-one-pilots

12 thoughts on ““wish we could turn back time, to the good old days…”

  1. Well the women were certainly a lot nicer and much easier to meet which makes me wish that if only i was born many years earlier i would’ve been married with a good wife and family by now, and today with many women that are very high maintenance, independent, selfish, spoiled, greedy, and very money hungry, is a very good reason why many of us good men are still single today.

    1. my condolences to all the capable, independent women who never got the chance with to be with you :/
      after all, a woman without a man is like a fish without a bicycle 🙂

  2. That picture!!! LOVE IT. However…. when I saw the title…hey ho..I SO hoped you put the song up!! ‘Build a rocket ship and then we’de fly far away.’… love em. We have been listening to that album STUPID 😀

    1. Thanks! It’s one of my favourite pictures of my brothers and me.

      And I thought I couldn’t title it that without including the song haha. Isn’t it such a great album? When it’s slow at work we put one of our phones in a dish to amplify it and play Twenty One Pilots until that’s all we can think about

        1. Ha I work at a drive-in fast food restaurant – people drive up and order and we bring their food out to their cars. For that reason no customers are ever inside – it’s just the kitchen/fountain/trays etc., so no one can hear the music unless they’re ordering via speaker and we turn it off when they are. So yes, please come join us!

          1. SOunds like a lot of fun actually! But – um – can I stick with listening to it in my car for 2 or 3 hrs a day instead? wanna come join me babe? 😉

What did you think?

