- favourite quotes · 1) EVERYTHING · 2) CREATIVITY

Writer’s Quote Wednesday – Peter Pan

to be born is to be wrecked on an island
The picture is of me near Hermanus, SA, taken by my great uncle

“To be born is to be wrecked on an island.” – J.M. Barrie

Alright, I know it’s a bit more depressing than inspiring, but it really reminds me a lot of writing and why we do it. Like from my poem motivation, which is about why I write:

“I write in hopes that maybe someone somewhere gets my drift,

but most of all I write just to be sure that I exist.”

I’m reading Neverland right now, which is about J.M. Barrie, those he was in contact with, why he wrote Peter Pan, etc. (it’s mostly a biography), and though he was very talented, he was often very lonely, and his childhood messed him up a lot. This was just something that he once jotted down and I took note of. It’s a very simple quote, but it really speaks to me about how isolated we often feel, especially as artists/writers. That feeling of alone-ness is a barrier I have to work to break down.

Anyway, have a lovely Wednesday!

061615_2010_writersquot1

http://silverthreading.com/2015/06/17/writers-quote-wednesday-a-silver-quote/

atp xx

4 thoughts on “Writer’s Quote Wednesday – Peter Pan

  1. The quote I like, and one of my own:
    God dropped you of on this corner of this block, in hopes of you crossing the street and becoming something more.
    It only FEELS like you’re on an island. I invite you to come wonder through the gardens of my site, you may find something to reflect upon.
    Blessings…

  2. You chose wisely, I see. I like what the quote represents – to a writer, we have to create a life for our characters and make them believable. We all start from nothing and create something special. Thanks and I am so glad you joined in! ❤

What did you think?

