- depression/anxiety/dealing · 1) EVERYTHING · 2) CREATIVITY · 3) THOUGHTS

coping

about two weeks ago I was just not doing well. I had a million emotions (many of them negative) and was extremely sad, confused, and anxious about several things. I was trying very hard not to take out my frustration on myself in a negative way but couldn’t summon any words to write and had no energy or motivation to exercise. So I located my paints and scrap paper, spread it all out on my bed, and starting painting. It’s really all I did for I don’t know how long – quotes, abstract lines, lyrics, random pictures… I am by no means talented, but it didn’t matter. I had to get everything out somehow and this was the only way I knew how. 

20-odd pieces of paper and a day later, I had calmed down. I didn’t have the bubbling, angry well of emotions threatening to spill over dangerously every other second. Painting isn’t something I do often, but somehow it nursed me through a harrowing couple of days. 

Hanging them up was very calming as well, lining up edges and arranging it all the way I wanted, and now they’re there as a reminder that I can get through anything and I sometimes have to look outside my usual little world for coping techniques sometimes. I was on the edge of a meltdown that Friday and by Sunday night was ready to go back to school. 

Anyway, I thought I’d share. Have a lovely Friday πŸ™‚   
           

One thought on “coping

  1. There’s something in you that’s waiting to be let out, clearly. Be well, Victoria. You’re far stronger than you give yourself credit for.

What did you think?

