- my poetry · 1) EVERYTHING

Allow the children to be children for now
Let the verdant, itchy, fresh grass stain their heels
Allow the children not to understand how
The empty, the sadness, the hopelessness feels

(They’ll know eventually, like me)

Allow the young ones every star in the sky
Make sure they know no limits to success
Allow them the knowledge and let them ask why
But never put their pure faith to the test

(Someday, I swear, it will be tried)

Allow the kids the love that every one deserves
And nighttime solace in their parents’ beds
Allow not even monsters underneath to be preserved
       And please
Don’t tell them of the ones inside their heads

(Allow the children to be children for now
Because someday soon they won’t even know how)


The poem I wrote for my last-minute lang assignment, attempting to mimic Langston Hughes. I’m not super proud of it, but at least I’ll keep my A

One thought on “

What did you think?

