1) EVERYTHING · 3) THOUGHTS

Warning: College may be closer than it appears

I’m really happy right now. I got my PSAT (it’s a national test for juniors) results yesterday, and I did really well. I got a 233 (out of 240), and though that may not mean much to most of you, especially those who don’t live here, it’s a big deal for me – I’m basically in the top 1% nationally. The test’s designed to help states retain their top 10% of students, so it won’t do a whole lot out-of-state, but it basically ensures me a full ride to any college in my state if I get a certain score on my SAT as well (just so they know I didn’t cheat or something.)

I really don’t want to go in-state, but it’s extremely comforting to know that, even if I can’t get the finances to go to my dream university, I will be able to attend a very good college at very little expense to my family. I spent a large chunk of the summer studying for it, especially the math (which is the only place I lost points. Sigh) and when they announced yesterday that we could collect our scores after 6th hour, I threw my stuff in my bag as soon as the teacher was done teaching, stood by the door anxiously until the bell rang, and raced down to the counsellor’s office, grabbing my best friend on the way. My heart was racing faster than it was on my driving test. I was just so happy when I saw the paper – my friend and I had a mini freak out (she did quite well also) and hugged and almost cried in the hallway.

It’s scary to be starting to make plans now, though – of course, the end of high school can’t come soon enough, but I swear I was a freshman last month. Now I’m over halfway through the whole thing. All these choices and obligations are a bit terrifying. What if I make the wrong choice?

I guess I am just really happy for now to know that I will be able to a good university – without miring my family or myself in debt – if I don’t get into the places I want to. The one I like in-state has a good journalism program, at least.

That being said, the next year is going to be completely geared towards getting scholarships and grants to get out of this state at a reasonable price lol. Syracuse, get ready.

~ATP

6 thoughts on “Warning: College may be closer than it appears

  1. Congratulations Victoria!

    How about this thought – there is no wrong choice, especially since you’re doing a lot of research and preparation. Accept now that there’s a chance that once you get to university, you’ll evolve into a different person. Don’t commit to trap yourself into a decision you make at 17 or 18. You can always change course later if that’s what you want to do. Make the choice that makes sense today, and give it your all. Tomorrow will take care of itself. Do NOT be afraid of the future! 🙂

    1. Thanks Riccardo, that’s good advice…I appreciate words of wisdom from people who know what they’re talking about and put it so well. I’ll try to keep what you said in mind 🙂

  2. Congratulations. Work your butt off to get a full ride. That would be the best financial thing that could ever happen in your life. Many people don’t finish school because of the cost. Pro tip: Apply to every scholarship you see, even if you don’t think you have a chance to get it. Sometimes not many kids apply for them so they end up picking you. Best of luck!

What did you think?

