1) EVERYTHING · 3) THOUGHTS

sum victoriosa

I’ve made a life change. I probably should have done it at the beginning of this year, but I wasn’t sure yet. But now, four days before my 17th birthday, I am.

Okay, so it’s not that big of a deal to you all, but it seems major to me. I’ve been calling myself Vicky since the beginning of 6th grade, at least. I refused to speak to anyone (besides my family and one guy) who called me Victoria. I suppose I just wanted to individualise myself a bit, break away from what my parents decided to brand me.

But from this day forward, I am

Victoria!

That feels so good to say. I wrote it on the top of my paper at school and it was just a nice moment.

There are a few reasons behind the change, but part of it is that I’m just tired of “Vicky.” Plus, if I don’t enunciate well, people end up thinking it’s Mickey or Nicky or some crap. And I’ve come to realise that my mother is right and that Victoria is a very pretty name.

Alright, sorry for wasting your time with 185 irrelevant words about my name, but I really need to get that outtt.

Also sorry about the pretentious Latin titles, but my name is basically directly Latin so I thought it was cool. Not even sure if “victoriosa” is properly conjugated….my grammar needs some polishing.

Now it’s 242 words.

~Victoria

11 thoughts on “sum victoriosa

  1. Nice to meet you Victoria!! What a lovely name 🙂 I’m glad I read those 242 words, it was definitely not a waste of my time – the opposite! HAPPY BIRTHDAY IN ADVANCE. Happy birthday VICTORIA!

  2. I made a very similar change a long time ago. One side effect is that you’ll always know your friends by the “before Victoria” days because they’ll keep calling you Vicky. Unless you forbid it, of course, and that’s your call. I let my “childhood” friends keep calling me by my childhood nickname because I felt they earned it, putting up with me in my youth. 🙂 Personally I do like Victoria as well, just be prepared when your closest friends who use your name a lot shorten it to the one-syllable “Vic”!

    1. Haha you’re very right, I did consider that. I don’t mind if they keep calling me Vicky, though – they’ve known me as that for the last 3 years since they met me and it would be almost strange for them to call me anything else!
      And Vic is alright, if it’s not all the time :p

  3. Good to finally make your acquaintance, Victoria (you’re mother is right, besides you’ll always be subconsciously associated with the word “Secret” :)) Btw, love the pretentious Latin titles, that’s why I initially followed you.

    1. I think the whole “secret” thing is part of the reason I switched to Vicky XD
      Yay, I’m glad I’m not the only one haha

What did you think?

