1) EVERYTHING · 3) THOUGHTS

(I Won’t Tell You To) Handle With Care

How are you at receiving criticism? Do you prefer that others treat you with kid gloves, or go for brutal honesty?

Well, Daily Post, that’s an excellent question. I must say, I do appreciate honest criticism, especially where my writing is concerned, because if they’re honest about it being dreadful, they mean it when they say it’s good. And I appear to take it well – I nod, look attentive, listen to advice, thank whomever warmly for their input.

But

I hate it. If you give me any indication that something isn’t quite perfect, I’ll spend the rest of forever worrying, wondering how to make it better, dreaming up improvements and turning ’round all my mistakes in my brain. But you’ll never know. Ever.

That being said, feel free to honestly criticise anything I put on here. That means more to me than false sweetness. And I can handle my own mind, don’t worry.

~A Girl Who Likes to Think She’s Different

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/handle-with-care/

3 thoughts on “(I Won’t Tell You To) Handle With Care

  1. I am so much when it comes to criticism. But I’m learning that some will always have something negative to say and it isn’t necessary to dwell on it. You keep it up! I love your writing.

    1. That’s so true – there will always be people to dislike what you do. Like Dita Von Teese said, “You can be the ripest, juiciest, peach in the world, and there’s still going to be somebody who hates peaches.” So you’re right – we mustn’t dwell on it. It’s just hard. Thanks for commenting 🙂

What did you think?

