- my poetry · 1) EVERYTHING

Abyss

On the way to looking for happiness
I accidentally find you
Try to quietly tiptoe around the edge of the  
          w 
         h            
        i              
         r         
             l   p  o  o  l
The whirlpool that is a memory of us
A desperate attempt to retain some form of control. 
But as I edge past, the cyclone w i d e n s. 
Soon the current is 
tickling my feet
whispering 
begging
inviting me closer. 
Every inch of heart and mind 
scream 
in denial
But resistance is useless. 
The thought of you seeps into me 
like an addictive poison;
Soon I am lost,
t
   u
          m
                 b
                       l
                          i
                            n
                              g
head over feet. 
No sense 
of direction
of myself
of anything 
but the thought of you holding me close once more. 
Every fragment of my soul is torn in two;
seemingly equal portions of 
right and wrong, 
love and hate, 
desire and abhorrence. 
My spirit seems to be divi     ding
I am pulled 
               ever 
                   deeper 
into the murky waters
Still unsure
Why am I there?
Who are you, really?
How do I feel towards you?
As always, the jagged line in me is slightly uNeVeN
A fraction of my heart 
which should despise you
cannot help but ex t e  n  d its hands in love. 
This piece grows ever stronger. 
Shifts 
from a gentle glow
to a 
blinding brilliance,
touching upon everything near 
with mixture of 
serenity 
and 
passion 
only you could arouse. 
But the triumph of benevolence over evil 
is still futile 
in the dark recesses of my mind. 
My love is a tiny star 
struggling to shine in the gloom 
of your 
ambivalent,
cold,
unyielding,
heart.
 
Wrote this ages ago xx kinda feelin it at the moment. I hope the formatting works
 
© Vicky Morrison 2013-2014
 
~A Girl Who Likes to Think She’s Different
2 thoughts on “Abyss

What did you think?

