1) EVERYTHING · 3) THOUGHTS

The List

Today, I took some random personality quiz, for fun. Then I read my result…and all of the others as well. Lo and behold, a piece of each of them applied me in part, and none of them were on point – they oftenย contained some quality that was radically different from how I knew I was. Isn’t that how these things always are? So I decided to compile my own list of characteristics.

I grabbed a blue marker, a nearby piece of graph paper, and began scribbling (in my atrocious cursive) what I saw in myself. The thing is, it came out more as all the things I knew were wrong with me, with my personality. I was a bit disappointed at first, but as I read down the list, I realised many of them were selfish things I could change, or diminish, and that I probably frustrated people with needlessly. Many say you need to love yourself, but I think the first step towards doing that is knowing who you are. It was refreshing to watch these things appear on paper and accept them as part of who I was in that moment, to remember all the times I had felt so disgustingly self-righteous, and know that I’m capable of being ten times the person I am. I don’t know what I am trying to tell you here, but I must say that if you are ever feeling too pleased with yourself, sit down and make the list. It’s a bit sobering.

Now, I can make excuses for all these things, argue that I’m not really like that…but since I’ve recognised these qualities in myself, I quite obviously am.

I’m going to leave the list right here for you to look at if you so desire.

  1. I indirectly seek attention too much sometimes
  2. I always want to be liked by strangers, even though I say I don’t care what people think of me
  3. I am horribly indecisive
  4. I can be too sarcastic…with the intention of hurting others sometimes
  5. I complain an awful lot
  6. I am apparently quite passive aggressive
  7. I am not always as loyal to my friends as I should be
  8. I procrastinate to a degree of ridiculousness
  9. I don’t always get done what I say I will
  10. I am good at giving up on things
  11. I see the bad in people before I see the good
  12. I indirectly brag often
  13. I get unreasonably jealous
  14. I go from happy to irritated to a degree of almost bipolar-ness, which is unfair to anyone in my presence
  15. I am very quiet, yet sometimes I think before I speak and spend the rest of the day berating myself for it

Anddd a million other things I’ll probably add later. But I think you get my point

~The Girl Who Likes to Think She’s Different

One thought on “The List

  1. I think personality tests are total BS ๐Ÿ™‚ Especially those star sign ones (You know, if you’re a capricorn you’re this, if you’re a libra you’re that)

    I like the list you did ๐Ÿ™‚ I think it’s great to write about oneself (One’s self? One self? Ones’ self? Which is correct!!?) both good things and bad things, so people can improve themselves. XD

What did you think?

