- my poetry · 1) EVERYTHING · 3) THOUGHTS

Paper Cages Video – spoken word poetry

Thisssss video is my new version of my piece “Paper Cages.” I’ve changed the words obviously, and sorry it’s only a photo of a piece of paper….I’m pretty shit at Movie Maker since this is the first time I’ve ever even opened it. 

Anyway, I really hope you guys like this. Please, please, give it a listen – it’s only like 33 seconds long. 

And here are the words:

trying to break free of a cage built of paper
inked with midnight black
every meaningless sheet added to my pack
breaks my aching back
a little more
two more years of this
and then six again
every word i write down just goes straight from my pen
to an empty, lonely, black abyss
so far away from us that we dont even miss them
but the A’s give me a purpose in my ever unsure mind
the only thing that matters in this world so colourblind
cause nothing’s black and white – it’s only shades of faded grey
punctuated by the fire and the blood of every day
While we just sit and write and talk our silly lives away
in our world of paper cages
 
© Vicky Morrison
 
 
~A Girl Who Likes to Think She’s CAPABLE OF SPOKEN POETRY
 
6 thoughts on “Paper Cages Video – spoken word poetry

What did you think?

