- my poetry · 1) EVERYTHING

Paper Cages

Trying to break free of this world of paper cages
Every meaningless sheet added to my pack breaks my aching back a little more
Two more years of this, and then 6 again
Every word I ink down loses itself in an abyss of forgotten thoughts
The A’s give me a purpose in my ever-unsure mind – the only thing that seems to matter in a world not black and white
There’s not much colour, either – it’s just shades of muted grey, punctuated by the red of fire and blood
While we sit and write about it in our little paper cages

~A Girl Who Likes to Think She’s Different

Β© Vicky Morrison

What did you think?

